Darrelle Revis, Devin Hester headline Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Finalists

One of the greatest tight ends in NFL history and perhaps the greatest returner to ever play the game is among the 15 finalists selected for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2023, it was announced Wednesday .

Cornerback Darrelle Revis and Cats quick return man Devin Hester headline a list that includes three other defensive backs Darren Woodson and cornerbacks Ronde Barber and Albert Lewis.

Other defensive players on the list of Gold Jacket finalists are running backs DeMarcus Ware, Dwight Freeney and Jared Allen, along with linebackers Patrick Willis and Zach Thomas.

Receivers Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne and Andre Johnson made the cut. They are joined by offensive lineman Willie Anderson and Joe Thomas.

Freeney, Revis and Thomas are finalists in their first year of eligibility, while Johnson, Allen, Hester and Ware are in their second year.

Revis was a four-time first-team All-Pro and six-time Pro Bowler during his 11 NFL seasons, including eight with the New York Jets. He also won a Super Bowl with the New England Patriots during the 2014 season.

Hester played 11 seasons in the NFL, including eight with the Chicago Bears. He holds the NFL record for most returns for a touchdown on special teams with 20 (14 punts, five sacks, one missed field goal).

Selected in the second round of the 2006 draft out of Miami, Hester was voted to three Pro Bowls, won 13 Special Teams Player of the Week awards and was voted to the All-Decade Team in the 2000s NFL.

Players must have participated as an active NFL player for five consecutive seasons to be considered and nominated for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


  • Jared Allen
  • Willie Anderson
  • round barber
  • Dwight Freeney
  • Devin Hester
  • Torry Holt
  • Andrew Johnson
  • Albert Lewis
  • Darrelle Revis
  • Joe Thomas
  • Zach Thomas
  • DeMarcus Ware
  • Reggie Wayne
  • Patrick Willis
  • Darren Woodson

In addition to the modern player finalists, Don Coryell was nominated by the coaches/linebackers committee and three players were named by the senior committee: linebacker Chuck Howley, defensive tackle Joe Klecko and quarterback Ken Riley.

Final voting for the Pro Football Hall of Fame will take place later this month by the 49-person selection committee prior to Super Bowl LVII in Glendale, Arizona. The class will be announced live on the Feb. 9 “NFL Honors” telecast.

The 2023 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be enshrined on August 5 in Canton.

FOX Sports Top Stories:

Eric D. Williams has reported on the NFL for more than a decade, covering the Los Angeles Rams for Sports Illustrated, the Los Angeles Chargers for ESPN and the Seattle Seahawks for the Tacoma News Tribune. Follow him on Twitter at @eric_d_williams.

Get more from the National Football League Follow your favorites for information on games, news and more

Source link

Leave a Comment